Blogging not my forte

Everyone blogs! If you’re a librarian, you blog! Well, I’m a different librarian, or at least student-librarian. (Ah, yes…I discovered a little late in life that I had missed my vocation).

Anyway,  I just can’t seem to latch on to this blogging thing. I do keep a journal…couldn’t go without it. But using language in an entertaining manner for the public to read is not one of my talents. I was brought up half Afrikaans/half English, and this did not help my vocabulary and grammar. (Talking about being a different kind of librarian…do all librarians love cats? It seems that way! I don’t like cats. Yes, you read right…I DON’T LIKE CATS! Feels good to say it too. But then, there are those two that belong to my daughter and son-in-law, that have kind of crept into my heart!)

With 7/30 modules left to complete a Bachelor’s degree in Info Science, 2014 is going to be a slog; I’m doing Distance Learning through the University of South Africa. I should complete this in Dec 2014. Roll on 2015, when I can get out there in the ‘real’ library world, hopefully equipped to make a difference somewhere.  As an expat in Doha, Qatar, I have my eye on the VERY handsome, modern Qatar National Library. Aah, as they say, dreams are good friends!

This year the course focus is on subject organization, cataloging, classification, user needs, political economy of information and more. Also a practical portfolio to do.  I love cataloging…sounds crazy, but someone has to love it, right?! However, this course is designed to make you a ‘jack of all trades’.  We’ll see where my strength lies when I get out there. By nature, I love to help, to serve, and make things easier for others.  So maybe it will be reader guidance.

For now, though, bring on 2014!  Dying to get this year behind me.   I hope to keep a record of my experiences in this final year.  Cataloguing, here we go again!

Image

Tools of the trade

Leave a comment

Filed under Student librarian

Leave a Reply

