What makes amazing?

This week’s post…? Suffice to say that I cannot stop thinking about that Portfolio waiting to be put together, but what’s good is, it’s becoming a little less daunting!
I have this desire to see the school’s library transformed, become amazing – because of what the SWOT report will deliver, because of what my research (gulp) will prove…or because of recommendations made. Ultimately, because of this passion inside me, of knowing that libraries are meant for so much more – uplifting and serving the community in more ways than we can imagine!
Fittingly, I noticed a tweet this morning, where someone had posted a Vimeo presentation by R D Lankes on “The Bad, The Good, and The Great.” (Given, no less, from the chemo therapy room! Talk about amazing!) Viewing the presentation by this remarkable mind, I’m going “Yes, yes, yes!” I hear him say that libraries are of the community…it’s all about community! Community building.

I’m really hoping I can translate this into the school situation, so that I make sense. That’s my mission over the next few months, aside from tackling cataloging, classification, subject organisation, “user” (the term Lankes hates so much!) services, and the political economy of Information (ugh!).
I’m eating, breathing, sleeping, dreaming library services and librarianship right now; loaded with info, yet trying to find the words…

There’s a community right here, worse off for not having access to amazing! 10,000 books in a school library, don’t make amazing. It’s what 1 valid, relevant, item, 1 community contact, 1 link, 1 article can do for 1 person’s need – that makes ‘amazing’! 1 person becomes 2, and 2 become 20, and so on. And soon the community is amazing, because 1 library served, truly served, 1 person.

Lankes says: “Great libraries build communities”.
Dare I say a great library builds an amazing community?

Leave a comment

Filed under librarianship, Secondary School libraries, Student librarian

Leave a Reply

